Ashadh Sud 10, Sunday 22 Jul 2018

Elevan Niyams

There are 11 Niyams that are recited in Nirvikalp Uttam Ati. These are as follows:

1. Hinsa na karanee jantukee - (Do not harm any being)
2. Parastriya sangako tyag - (Do not touch other women. This does not include relatives)
3. Mans na khavat madhyakun - (Do not eat meat)
4. Peevat nahi badabhag - (Do not drink alcohol)
5. Vidhavakun sparshat nahi - (Do not touch widow women)
6. Karat na atmaghat - (Do not commit suicide in any circumstances)
7. Choree na karanee kahukee - (Do not steal)
8. Kalank na koikun lagat - (Do not make false accusations)
9. Nindat nahi koy devakun - (Do not insult deities)
10. Bin khapto nahi khat - (Don't eat food from improper sources)
11. Vimukh jivake vadanase katha sunee nahi jat - (Do not listen to speeches or Katha by those who have turned their backs on God)